top of page

Book Review: 4 Things I Learned From Reading The Magnolia Story by: Chip & Joanna Gaines


This week I decided to read The Magnolia Story by Chip & Joanna Gaines and I don't know where you've been is you haven't heard of them or at least their very popular show Fixer Upper on HGTV. this show has made such an impact on me and now I'm am literally obsessed about Shiplap and I'm even inspired to live in a home that is ranch/farm style. The reason I decided to read their book is that I love how Chip & Jo's personality and relationship shine through and comes off as genuine. In this review I will discuss Love & Magnolias, The Petals of Family History, From Passion To Career and Unplugged At The Farm. And be sure to read last week's blog on the book The Last Black Unicorn by Tiffany Haddish.

Love & Magnolias

Although they both attended Baylor University the two of them didn't meet there, they actually met at Joana's dad's Firestone Tire store in Waco, Texas. Since Joanna starred in most of the shops' commercials Chip became a frequent shopper at the store and was mesmerized by Joana's photo. Often saying "I knew I'd marry her one day just by the picture on the wall."And in 2001 Chip finally got to meet Joana at the shop, using the greatest pickup line of all time "Hey, you're the girl from the commercials."

But it wasn't all Love & Magnolias with Chip & Joanna, they have separated a few times due to Chip making plans without alerting and discussing things with his wife. Like purchasing a boat for them to live in and adding new animals to their Magnolia Farm. In fact, Chip even arrived late to their very first date and for a bet, he didn't call Joanna for multiple months for $50. Because of this Joanna had a lot of reservations in getting to know Chip, but their shared beliefs and values brought them together.

The Petals Of Family History

Chip was born on November 14, 1974 in Albuquerque, New Mexico and, Joanna was born in Kansas on April 19, 1987. Joanna's mother is Korean and her father is half Lebanese/half German. As a kid Joanna even dreamed of one day owning a New York boutique. And Chip often dreamed of becoming an athlete in some way. The love story from Chip & Joanna's parents inspired them both to find real love and someone with a love for Christ. Real love wasn't the only thing that they learned from their parents it was hard work and strength to never give up on yourself.

From Career Goals To Following Your Passion

At Baylor, Joanna majored in Communications and Chip in Business even though he dreamed of having a career in baseball. While in school Chip worked part-time flipping houses and Joana worked to become a broadcast journalist. And it was interesting to see how their relationship basically guided their career moves. Chip basically wanted to create his own business where he flips houses except he didn't have experience in the decorating process. Which is why Chip decided to ask Joanna to design the interiors of all of the homes he flips, and that partnership was just the beginning. In fact, on Friday night while Chip and Joanna were promoting Joanna's new book Homebody on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon. Chip let the cat out of the bag by saying they will be returning to tv but with a lifestyle-focused media network for Magnolia. And now they are partners in multiple businesses like Silos Baking Co., Magnolia House, Magnolia Realty and their Target collection Hearth & Hand on top of their already thriving Home Renovation business.

Unplugged At The Farm

I was very surprised to learn that Chip and Joanna don't own a TV in their home, especially since they starred on one of the highest rated shows on HGTV. But it also makes sense because they are very busy at their farm, family and many businesses that need their full attention. I also enjoyed that they shared how even though they don't have a TV they still watch TV but just not in their home. Like for big TV moments like the Super Bowl and Hallmark Christmas Movies, from them sharing this I realized that maybe I watch too much television. I made me think of all of the things I could create and accomplish if I also unplug from TV and social media.

Would I Buy Or Read Again?

Do I see myself rereading this book, yes I do because I have watched their show since the first season and have admired them. I admire the businesses they have and especially their marriage because I feel like its something to learn from and look up to. I will definitely be purchasing a hard copy of this book, I feel as though the cover even shows the closeness of their relationship. I will be a forever fan of them, I want to buy the book, put shiplap all over the place and I definitely want to visit the Waco Silos.

Catch up on last week's blog on the book The Last Black Unicorn by Tiffany Haddish.

If you have any book suggestions add them below in the comments, and look out for new book reviews every Sunday. And remember “As we ‘Rise to Be’, we are becoming who we want to be” -Christina B. Rising🤗 (Internet Hug)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page